Tags

, , , ,

It seems like my recipes just come when I have too much of some ingredients and none of others, like when I made my Tomato Veggie Mac ‘n’ Cheese. Admittedly, that one was at least based on three recipes I looked over.

Last night I came up with something else – I’m not really sure what I would call it. I suppose Garden Gnocchi Salad. Is that a good name?

This one was pretty much all me. Essentially I bought a 10-pound bag of potatoes  a little over a week ago and really haven’t used many. Last night I was making lunch for today and needed something that would keep. I didn’t want to make anything that has a diminishing margin of best taste returns, if you understand what I mean.

So there you go. I named it Garden Gnocchi Salad because it is a pasta salad. But it also has lots of veggies, hence “garden.” The gnocchi comes from the potato and pasta parts – if you make it right it really does taste like gnocchi, and without any of the hassle of making gnocchi.

Garden Gnocchi Salad


Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. of uncooked ziti
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 5 Russett potatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 3 carrots, julienned
  • 3 stalks of celery, chopped
  • salt & pepper
  • 4 tablespoons of sesame oil (or more, per taste)
  • 1 cup of peas
  • 1 cup of corn
  • 1 (15 oz.) can of cannellini beans, drained

Directions:

  1. Cook the ziti on stovetop as instructed by the box. Try to cook it a little longer so it’s a little softer.
  2. In a Dutch oven, heat up the vegetable oil.
  3. Sauté the potatoes for 3 minutes on medium-high heat, making sure the potatoes are staying white and not browning.
  4. Add the water and let the potatoes continue cooking for another 3 minutes.
  5. Add the garlic, carrots and celery. Mix with the potatoes and continue cooking.
  6. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  7. Add sesame oil and mix well. The heat should still be on and the vegetables should still be cooking.
  8. Add the peas and corn. Mix well and cook for 3-8 minutes. Check to see when the potatoes are soft. [Remember, that’s the key to the gnocchi taste.]
  9. Add the cannellini beans and mix well.
  10. Turn off heat and then mix in the cooked ziti with the vegetables.
  11. Serve warm.

Enjoy!

