Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I didn’t mean to disappear after my post on Italy, but as always, February is as busy as it is short. I’m set to travel again in less than 2 weeks, although this time not strictly for leisure, so I figured I should finish up this set of posts from my travels last fall.

One of my favorite trips was Morocco. Beyond just the thrills of being in Africa (albeit this was just the Malgreb) and seeing a place so different from all other places I’ve been to, it was a learning experience, a lesson in culture, perspectives and friendship.

In our short time there, we ventured throughout the Old Medina of Fes (where we stayed in the very hospitable Dar Warda), exploring the ancient structures, stuffing ourselves with delicious and savory dishes, and wandering through the night markets. We saw the bread makers, rug weavers, leather tanners, and cedar wood workers practicing their crafts, contributed our fair share to the local economy, and did I mention we ate too much and probably drank a couple gallons of mint tea? (I also happen to be currently enjoying mint tea made from a batch I bought in Fes, sadly no fresh mint though.)

On our last full day there, we also hired a driver and road-tripped to other cities in the Mid-Atlas region, including the Swiss-style town of Ifrane and the cedar forests of Azrou where the barbary apes, which are really monkeys, freely roam. (Increasingly however, too many tourists who don’t care about the future of the region feed and badger the monkeys so much they are starting to both rely on human food and run away from humans.)

My favorite memories there, however, consist of playing tag with local kids and starting a dance party on the streets. I hope to return to Morocco one day to explore all its diversity and spend more time talking with locals.

Unfortunately many of the photos that really display the beauty and interesting history and culture of Morocco, the ones that really exemplify my experience there, did not turn out very well photographically, but here a couple to capture the magic, until next time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IF YOU WANT TO USE ANY OF THE PHOTOS FOR ANY PURPOSE, PLEASE ASK FIRST. THEY’RE ALL COPYRIGHTED AS PART OF THIS BLOG. PLUS IT WOULDN’T BE NICE AND I’D BE LESS INCLINED TO CONTINUE POSTING FOR THIS SERIES IF YOU JUST TOOK THEM WITHOUT PERMISSION.
