Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the name of procrastination from packing and in the spirit of the Best Travel Photography posts from my sojourn in Europe, I figured I’d post some photos from southern China from the last time I was in China.

I was there at the tail end of the Olympics in 2008 (so yes, there are photos from that even though Beijing is in the north), and the highlight of that visit was a trip to the ethnic haven of Yunnan province near the border with Vietnam. Tomorrow I embark on a trip quite the opposite from the last – this time I will be going to study a northern minority in Heilongjiang province in villages near the border with Russia.

That last voyage was during the three weeks before college, and now, at the end of college, I wonder how my perspectives have changed and how they will affect my upcoming trip to China.

I won’t divulge too much about my trip just yet and will try to update as much as possible instead while I’m in China. I have a little theory about the Great Firewall of China, and I seriously hope I am correct, because otherwise I shall be one very deprived social media nut, with the last word there possibly becoming true. But alas, I have more packing to do right now, so without further ado, photos from August 2008.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IF YOU WANT TO USE ANY OF THE PHOTOS FOR ANY PURPOSE, PLEASE ASK FIRST. THEY’RE ALL COPYRIGHTED AS PART OF THIS BLOG. PLUS IT WOULDN’T BE NICE AND I’D BE LESS INCLINED TO CONTINUE POSTING FOR THIS SERIES IF YOU JUST TOOK THEM WITHOUT PERMISSION.
