Tags

, , , , , , ,

I wanted to share a super easy recipe I whipped up last night as an appetizer for dinner. I first had a similar dish at Cafe Emeraude in Paris, and while the rest of the meal was less than memorable, I remembered my shrimp avocado appetizer.
We had a couple of avocados in the fridge, and I knew I wanted to do something fun and tasty with them. I couldn’t find anything online that resembled what I’d ate in Paris, and all other shrimp stuffed avocado recipes required mayonnaise or some sort of sauce/aioli/mustard, so instead I just pulled whatever I had in the fridge and made my own recipe. Enjoy! 🙂
Ingredients:
– 2 eggs
– 1 teaspoon of oil
– 2 green onions, finely chopped
– 1 green chili, roughly chopped
– approximately 25-30 medium shrimp, peeled and deveined, defrosted if possible
– 1/4 orange bell pepper, finely chopped
– 1/4 red bell pepper, finely chopped
– 1 tomato, finely diced
– 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
– 2 teaspoons of hot chili powder
– 2 Hass avocados, halved and pitted
Directions:
1. Hard boil both eggs. [This basic necessity stumps me every time – I always have to Google “how to boil eggs.] Once cooled, peel and cube.
2. In a skillet, heat up the oil and quickly saute the green onions and green chili for about 1-2 minutes to bring out the flavors. Stir frequently to avoid burning.
3. Place the shrimp in one layer on a plate and microwave uncovered for 3 minutes. Check to see if shrimp is pink. How long this will take depends on your microwave. (It took about 4:30 in mine, but my shrimp was not completely defrosted.) Add 30 second increments as needed.
4. In a medium bowl, mix together the cubed eggs, green onions, green chili, both bell peppers, and the diced tomato.
5. Remove shrimp from plate, chop up, and add to mix.
6. Add lemon juice and hot chili powder. Mix well.
7. Spoon into halved avocados and serve immediately.
Happy weekend!
