Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On Wednesday after my unfortunate encounter, I went on a solo roadtrip through several small towns in central Nebraska (pics to come!). At the end of my itinerary was Loup City, the self-proclaimed Polish Capital of Nebraska, home to the Polish Days festival each June.

All day I was really excited to reach Loup City and get some authentic pierogi. Mrs. T was a constant friend during lunchtime in high school, but it’d been a while since we’ve lunched together. (For those who I just lost, Mrs. T’s is a brand of frozen pierogi.) So there I was thinking I’d get some solid Polish food before I turned around and headed home. Well, boy was I wrong. Turns out Loup City only has polish food during Polish Days. Instead, I had the most disappointing tuna melt ever at a local diner (was the cheese even real?).

But my mind was set on pierogi and since I happened to still have a small bag of baby red potatoes that I’d bought two weeks ago, I figured I’d make my own. So viola. This recipe makes about 3 dozen pierogi.

Potato Cheese Pierogi

Ingredients:

Dough:

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cups of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 tablespoons of room temperature butter
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup (Fage) Greek yogurt

Filling:

  • 10-12 baby red potatoes
  • 2 1/2 cups of shredded Colby & Monterey Jack cheese (cheddar works too)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons of dried chives

Directions:

  1. Beat the eggs in a large mixing bowl, and then add in the flour and salt, mixing thoroughly.
  2. Cut in the butter and pour in the oil. Mix well.
  3. Add in the Greek yogurt a quarter cup at a time and blend well until smooth.
  4. Knead the dough and then place in the refrigerator covered for at least an hour. (I’d prepare the dough in advance. I put mine the fridge and went to the gym.)
  5. Once you’re back, wash and peel the baby red potatoes, and then place in a large pot of water. Bring to a boil and cook uncovered for 40 minutes.
  6. In the meantime, take the dough out of the fridge and separate into quarters.
  7. Flatten each quarter until it’s about 1/4 cm thick, and then using a drinking glass turned upside down or a circle cookie cutter, cut the individual pierogi. This dough has some elasticity so make sure it’s really flattened. (If you have a rolling pin, form 1-inch balls of dough and roll each pierogi separately instead of using the cutting method.)
  8. Once the potatoes are cooked, drain and mash with a fork.
  9. Stir in the cheese, salt, pepper, and chives.
  10. Depending on the size of each pierogi, place either one rounded teaspoon or tablespoon in each and then fold in half, pressing the edges firmly.
  11. Bring a pot of water to boil and then drop in the pierogi. Cook for about 7-10 minutes, or until the pierogi float.

12. If you want to, you can also pan fry them lightly after boiling them.

13. If you have extras, freeze them before boiling.

