Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Almost done with the 20 Spices Challenge!

As number of the unused spices dwindle, I’ve been trying to figure out what to use the crushed mint for. I have plenty of Moroccan mint tea, so I wasn’t about to use it for that. I don’t eat lamb, so putting mint on that wasn’t an option. Tabbouleh uses mint, but crushed mint instead of fresh mint would impact the flavor in a negative way. I often associate the word “mint” with “chocolate chip,” as in my favorite mint chocolate chip ice cream, so I figured, why not try to make some brownies with a minty twist?

So the other day when I was making brownies I decided to put in some crushed mint at the last minute to see how it would taste. Pretty solid as long as you evenly distribute the mint!

Mint Chocolate Chip Brownies 

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick of margarine (1/2 cup), melted
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons of crushed mint

Directions:

  1. Mix together the margarine, applesauce, and sugars in a bowl.
  2. Add in the vanilla and eggs, beating well.
  3. Add in the flour and cocoa powder, mixing thoroughly.
  4. Stir in the chocolate chips and mint, spreading out evenly.
  5. Pour the batter into a greased 9×13 baking dish and smooth out.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.
