Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The other week a co-worker called me the most biased unbiased tweeter ever. I gladly accepted that as a compliment.

I make jabs at every candidate at times and still support almost all of them at other times, because there is no perfect politician. Almost all politicians have worthy points about them, and certainly all of them have their flaws.

So I think it’s funny when people try to guess who I voted for in this election for president, Nebraska senator, and my local congressman. I think it’s funny that some people think I’m pro-Obama because I retweeted his tweets today. And I think it’s funny others think I’m pro-Romney because I didn’t post a congratulatory status about Obama’s win.

As a journalist, I’m not going to broadcast my views lest someone says it taints my reporting in the future. I’m plenty opinionated, but most of the time, I will abstain from voicing clearly in favor or against a topic that I may cover in the relative near future. All I will say is I don’t vote along party lines, and I like purple more than red or blue. (Go ‘Cats!)

My biggest concern after such a close race, however, is a divided country. Using my own Facebook friends circle as a simple case study: a good number of my friends are Florida/Texas/southern Republicans, while a similar number are California/Chicago Democrats. In the past few months, I have seen countless statuses about either Obama or Romney, whether a supportive statement or an attack. At times, the support was as much backed by hatred of the other candidate as were the attacks. America doesn’t need hatred, it needs strong leaders to lead us into a brighter future.

There’s also that little problem I like to call the President-Legislature deadlock. The Senate looks like it’s going blue, while the House looks to be staying red. I want to congratulate every winner tonight, but also leave this note that a friend posted as his status this morning:

To the Congressional members of whichever party loses the presidency tonight:
WORK WITH THE PRESIDENT, whoever he may be. Neither of the Presidential candidates is a bad person. They have somewhat different philosophies, each of which offers distinct benefits to the country, and each of which is weak in certain areas. There is *plenty* of room for disagreement on which is better, and surely neither is perfect. But EITHER is preferable to stagnation and inaction. I’m not asking you to give up your beliefs. But I’m asking you to be reasonable, to understand that the man who wins tonight will be here for the next four years, and to remember that your job is to govern this country. Your goal should be to make the United States the best country it can be, NOT to win the next election by denying the President any accomplishments. By doing the latter, you are undermining the very purpose of our government. Do your job! If you don’t, we’ll vote you out.

Work for America. Please.

Last tangent: what a big night for Asian American women! Tammy Duckworth is the first biracial white-Asian American woman from Illinois to be elected to the House. (I dislike categorizing people by one parent – we live in a multicultural world.) She’s also the first disabled female veteran elected to the House. (And if I’m not wrong, she’s also the first double amputee in the House.) And Hawaii’s Mazie Hirono! The first Asian American woman in the Senate. She’ll also be the first senator who immigrated from Asia (S.I. Hayakawa was the other non-American born Asian American senator, but he was from Canada.) And there’s also Grace Meng, the first Asian American congresswoman from New York. Woohoo!

Got up at 5:45 this morning for election coverage – I hope Obama comes on soon for his victory speech, because I’m ready to pass out. Good night, America!

Oh, and no, you’ll never find out who I voted for.

