Tags

, , , , , , , ,

No, no drugs here.

I just wanted to share the progress of my lovely homegrown oyster mushrooms, which are just about ready to harvest.

Now, I’ve never really had a green thumb. Growing up I always tried my luck with some flower or plant, but for one reason or another, they always died. With these mushrooms I think I’ve finally found my calling: growing things that I can eventually eat. Guess I just needed an incentive.

I got my The Imaginary Farmer Grow-Your-Own kit ($18.45 including S&H) from Fab.com (also known as the best site ever and most likely to rob my wallet blind). All I needed to do was to procure a little bit of fresh coffee grounds, rubbing alcohol, and hydrogen peroxide (total cost: under $4), follow the instructions, and then diligently mist my mushrooms three times a day (which was perhaps the hardest part given my work schedule).

This is what it looked like on day 1:

20121117_214057

Approximately 2 weeks later:

20121205_183508

Pinning at about 3 1/2 weeks in:

20121213_223312

Pretty much ready to harvest shortly before week 5!

20121219_114617

I think I’m going to make mushroom risotto this weekend (and yes, this time I actually have arborio rice), and hopefully I can get it to grow another crop!

