Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve made an egregious error for anyone who blogs about food: I didn’t take a photo of my latest creation. For that, I’m terribly sorry. I guess you’ll just have to read on and try the recipe for yourself to see what it looks like.

Anyway, the other day I wanted to make a pie for Pi Day and decided I was going to make Harry Nilsson’s iconic “Coconut” song into a pie (you know, “she put the lime in the coconut and she drank ’em both up”….). Turned out better than I expected, and my co-workers ate ’em all up.

Lime in the Coconut Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut flakes
  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • 1/3 cup + 2 tablespoons of powdered/confectioners sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 7 tablespoons of cold butter
  • 1 can (14-oz) of sweetened condensed milk
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon of lime zest
  • 2/3 cup of fresh or bottled Key lime juice (I squeezed 2 fresh ones and then used bottled for the rest)

Directions:

  1. Spread coconut flakes on an oven-safe plate and toast at 350 degrees F. Watch carefully as baking time will depend on your oven and can take anywhere between 4 to 10 minutes. Again, pay careful attention that it doesn’t burn. My first batch went straight into the trash can. Allow to cool to room temperature.
  2. Meanwhile, sift together the flour, powdered/confectioners sugar, and salt.
  3. Then cut the butter into tiny bits and work it into the flour mixture until the ingredients come together.
  4. Stir in the coconut flakes and continue mixing until the butter is holding the dough together.
  5. Press the dough onto the bottom and up the sides of a pie plate. You may need to flour your fingers so the dough doesn’t stick to your fingers.
  6. Freeze for about 10-15 minutes, until firm.
  7. Then bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. Remove and let cool.
  8. Meanwhile, carefully separate four egg yolks from the whites.
  9. Add the sweetened condensed milk into the bowl with the egg yolks and mix well.
  10. Then add in the lime zest and lime juice, stirring until evenly spread out.
  11. Once the coconut crust has cooled to the touch, pour in the lime filling, spreading it out evenly.
  12. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes.
  13. Let cool completely and then cover and chill in the refrigerator overnight (or about 7-9 hours).
  14. Serve plain or with whipped cream or fresh lime slices and maybe with “Coconut” playing in the background.

Now a little side quip about the new pope.

I’m not Catholic, so I won’t comment on Francis I’s views in the religious realm. I just know I like him already because like any other good Argentinean, the Pope tangos.

Is it still appropriate to ask him for a dance now that he’s Pope? My shoes are ready when he is.

265309_1913581355008_689193_o

