Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve got a granola problem. Similar to my French baguette problem (yes, I ate one today), once I get my hands on good granola I just can’t stop eating it. Because of that, I try to buy granola only every once in a while. But the other day I picked up a box of Sunbelt Bakery’s granola…and then another….

And so I decided I should probably make my own to save some money. After all, I have a bunch of old-fashioned oats (and I don’t really like oatmeal) and random nuts and dried fruits. And the great thing about homemade granola is that you can mix and match whatever grains, nuts, and dried fruits you’ve got on hand, although I’d limit the mix to one type of nuts and up to two types of dried fruits (if they’re complementary).

Here’s what I just made tonight!

d45d5aa9aa89e4f43bdcdcdd72a39007

Homemade Granola

(makes enough to fill about 2 of those tall Ball glass jars) Edit: That’s apparently about 5 cups.

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oats
  • 2 tablespoons of dried black sesame seeds
  • 1/4 packed cup of sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup of chopped dried Turkish apricots
  • 1 cup of raw almonds, chopped or sliced
  • 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of canola oil
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons of pure honey
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Mix together the oats, sesame seeds, coconut flakes, apricots, almonds, and cinnamon.
  2. In a mixing cup, stir together the sugar, oil, honey, vanilla extract, and salt until well-blended.
  3. Drizzle the honey mix over the dried ingredients and mix well so that as much is coated as possible.
  4. At this point, turn on the oven and preheat it to 325 F degrees.
  5. Spread the mixture in thin and even layers on two regular-sized baking trays.
  6. Bake for 7-10 minutes and then stir and redistribute so it doesn’t burn.
  7. Then bake for another 20 minutes or so, checking every few minutes to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Let cool completely before storing and serving.

Enjoy, granola fanatics!

